注册
搜索
热搜:
查看: 27689|回复: 16

澄清中国驾照在Illinois用多久的问题

[复制链接]
jiansong 发表于 2010-11-10 20:24:26 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Question
I’m an international university student studying here in Illinois. I was stopped and ticketed for not having a valid driver’s license, even though I showed the police my license from my home country. Isn’t a valid driver’s license from another country valid here in the United States?Answer
It should be. Just as most foreign countries are supposed to accept U.S. driver’s licenses, we’re supposed to accept foreign licenses. Unless you’re from one of the few countries whose driver’s licenses the U.S. doesn’t accept, your foreign license should have been good enough for you to drive legally here in Illinois.
To deal with people traveling around the world, and cars going across borders, the United Nations passed the Convention on International Road Traffic in 1949. This agreement says that any country that has signed this agreement must allow drivers from other countries to drive on its roads. Just as an American driver's license would be legal to use in France, a French driver's license should be legal to use here. So far, about 175 other countries have signed this agreement.
In the U.S., then, a driver’s license from one of those 175 other countries makes you a legal driver here. As the Illinois Motor Vehicle Code says, “a nonresident who has in his immediate possession a valid license issued to him in his home state or country may operate a motor vehicle for which he is licensed for the period during which he is in this State.” This means that if you have a driver's license from another country with you, you can legally drive a car in Illinois.